Main Menu

New!

Started by TRMB1984, May 11, 2012, 16:27:26

Previous topic - Next topic

TRMB1984

Hi everyone,

I was at silverstone last sunday and I enjoyed the 2CV race more than any of the others! I thought it was fantastic :D
I am an ex-rally driver and would like to get back into racing but have no money. How much does a car cost in race form? What does the average race cost?

Cheers.

Tom

Nick Paton

Hello Tom,

Firstly, welcome! 

Its a cracking series with some very close racing.  The cars obviously have a surplus of drag w.r.t power, thus there is a lot of cycling style pack racing with 2 cars together faster than 1 and 3 even better.  The engines are simple (I'm told, but as anyone who knows me will testify, I've really no idea...) and costs are supposed to be lower than other series.. but that, as ever, depends a little on how fast you want to go.

I've bought a couple of cars the last few years... and the best advice I can give is buy one thats already got the right bits and is running.  Its more expensive to build from scratch.  I bought one that was a shell and had built back up (well done Mark Turner) and another that fundamentally had the right bits but wasnt going that quickly (had to buy that one in an emergency cos my favourite one went over a tyre wall)...

The cars go for 4k-8k.. depending on race history and bits etc.. however if you DON'T come from London you may get a substantial discount on this.

You're not going to break the bank on consumables... you'll need the toilet before it runs out of fuel.  you'll do a season on a set of tyres (ex the 24hrs, for which you'll need 6 fresh 'uns)...

Panels and stuff are getting more expensive but you can still find bargains (Alec Graham assures me, although I've no idea how he does it)...

Come along to Mallory park, 4th June, locate the red JRZ cars and I will do my best to fill in the gaps and introduce you to the people I know.

Nick

Nick Paton